Friday, November 13, 2009

Preah Vihear Province

Preah Vihear Province

Preah Vihear (Khmer: RBHvihar) is a northern province of Cambodia. The Capital is Tbeng Meanchey town. The province is named after the temple of Preah Vihear. Straddling the borders of Laos and Thailand in Cambodia`s far north, Preah Vihear is one of the most remote provinces in Cambodia. But, in the past it was an important place as a result one can be seen of the famous group of temples such as Koh Ker, Preah Vihear, Preah Khan Kompong Svay.

The province is subdivided into 7 districts; Chey Sien, Chheb, Choam Khsan, Kulen, Ro Vieng, Sangkom Thmey & Tbeng Meanchey.
Area : 13,788 km2
Population : 170,852 (2008)
Population Density : 12.4/km2

Tourist Attractions

  • Bac Kam Pagoda (17 km from town):
  • Koh Ker Temple Complex (72 km from town):

Koh Ker Temple - CambodiaKoh Ker used to be palace of the Khmer emperor by King Jayavarman IV whom built this city in year 921 AD. The Koh Ker was the third ancient capital of Khmer Empire; it may have been the capital for just 15 years. King Jayavarman IV was determined to legitimize his rule through an extensive building program, and left behind 30 major temples and some gargantuan sculpture seen today in Phom Penh and the temple still hidden in the heart of jungles.

  • Krapum Chhouk Temple (45 km from south of Tbeng Meanchey): Built in the 1oth century in laterite and sandstone.
  • Kork Beng Temple (In Tbeng Meanchey): A ruined laterite and sandstone temple built between 936 and 951 by a commander named Kork on the border of King Jayavarman IV.
  • Neak Buos Temple (75km north of Tbeng Meanchey):
  • Noreay Temple (32 km northeast of town): 7th century temple made of sandstone, laterite and brick.
  • Phnom Pralean Temple (10 km from Tbeng Meanchey): A temple built to worship Brahmanism on top of a 180 meters hill.
  • Preah Vihear: Built in the 12th century located between Thailand and Cambodia. It was listed as World Heritage Site on 7th July 2008.

Preah Vihear temple is 108km from provincial town of Preah Vihear. The Preah Vihear temple is located slightly east of the midsection of the mountain range of Dangrek. It is also perched on the edge of a giant cliff, 625 meters above sea level, in the northern part of Preah Vihear province. Lying out on an 800 meters north-south axis, the Preah Vihear complex has a single imposing approach, leading up through a series of five towered entrance pavilions connected by causeways and 120 meters long steps. Stunningly sitting at the top of the Preah Vihear temple, the main sanctuary is surrounded by libraries and other structures.

Preah Vihear Temple planIts history is mentioned as follow:
In the 9th century, Khmer King Yasovarman I (889 – 900) originally began work on the construction of a small sanctuary then named Sekharesvara “ Lord of Summit” and dedicated to Shiva.

Spiritual development, increased political power and economic growth were factors that inspired the Khmer kings to the architectural imagination. It took more than 300 years to construct the whole temple during the reigns subsequent kings - Suryavarman I (1002 - 1050), Jayavarman VI (1080-1107), and Suryavarman II (1113 – 1150) in the various structures that merged into a homogeneous Hindu universe called magical home of gods.

As a result of its finest carving in situ found there, The Preah Vihear temple was officially declared a World Heritage Site on 7th July 2008 by the 21-Nation World Heritage committee of the UNESCO in Quebec City, Canada.

King’s residence
The king has a residence at Preah Vihear where he would pay homage to the mighty God. The residence has two wings, which were probably shelters for pilgrims. The main temples were used to worship high-ranking supreme divinities, and this mighty group of buildings represents the center of the temple complex.

The Naga Courtyard
The paved courtyard is 7m wide by 31.8m long. From here, a stairway leads up to the first level Gopura. The stairheads are in the form of seven-headed snakes and these faces north towards the Prasat (tower). The heads and tails of the nagas on both sides look like ordinary snakes, and characterize an early example of this type of sculpture. The head portion of the naga on the west side is impressive because it is carved from a single, solid stone.

The First Level Gopura
This pavilion looks Greek in its architectural style and has an elevated cross-plan, rebates and triangular lintels over its doorways. There are also stone lions at each doorway.

The Front Stairway
This is the main passage is on the north side. The stairway is 8m wide and 78m long. The first flight has 162 steps, and at the first landing, there is a large stone lion statue on a stone block. Another flight of 54 steps is 4m wide and 27m long, and leads up to the second landing, which also has a stone lion statue.

Preah Khan Kampong Svay or Ba Kan: (105 km from town)

The Preah Khan complex is the largest enclosure of ancient Cambodia at nearly five kilometres square, bigger than Angkor Thom (3.3 kms sq) and Banteay Chhmar (4 kms sq). The group consists of a central sanctuary and four enclosures with many accessory buildings, basins, a large eight-metre wide moat and temples, some of which are outside the outer enclosure walls. Outside the enclosure is the small pyramid temple of Prasat Preah Damrei of some twelve low tiers. Built in the 9th century, it stands on a terrace and is approached by a series of steps. Enclosed by a laterite wall with four gates, the upper corners of the pyramid is guarded by massive stone elephants. The main eastern approach into the complex is via a large baray, some 600 x 3,000 metres, where a cruciform sandstone shrine, Preah Thkol, occupies an island in the center. At the western end of the baray is an 11th century structure, Prasat Preah Stung, whose sanctuary is surmounted by a central tower with four Bayon-like faces and a remarkable terrace with carvings of 'hamsa' (swans). An ornately carved naga bridge gives access to the main eastern entry gopura, flanked by two smaller entrance halls. The inner walls have galleries and gates and alongside the re-built central sandstone tower are two libraries. The walls are adorned with apsara carvings and a royal pool has been cleared of weeds and foliage. Closeby is a sandstone 'dharmasala' (rest house), similar to the one found at Preah Khan of Angkor.

The main group of temples were built in the 12th century when Preah Khan was home to both King Suryavarman II and later, the future King Jayavarman VII, before the latter defeated the invading Chams, claimed the throne and moved his capital back to Angkor in 1181. The story of his victories are celebrated in bas-relief carvings on the walls of the Bayon and Banteay Chhmar. Located 100 kilometres east of Angkor, the site was studied in the 1870s by Louis Delaporte, who shamefully looted and carried off a number of substantial carvings that are now housed in the Guimet Museum in Paris. However, one masterpiece remains in the National Museum in Phnom Penh and that's a finely sculpted head, believed to be of Jayavarman VII. A millennium celebration at Preah Khan attracted hundreds of locals and vegetation was cleared from the site for the occasion, but it remains a complex very much in its natural state, inundated with trees, scrubs and dense foliage throughout. With the re-emergence of Cambodia's remotest areas from years of inaccessibility.

Phnom Penh City

Phnom Penh Province

The capital city of the Kingdom of Cambodia was founded in 1431 by King Ponhea Yat after the sack of Angkor. Phnom Penh is conveniently located at the junction of four rivers: the upper Mekong, lower Mekong, the Tonle Sap and the Bassac. Phnom Penh was also previously known as Krong Chatomuk “City of four faces”. Phnom Penh is the political, economic, industrial, commercial, cultural, tourist and historic center. The colonial city with French influenced architecture still maintains considerable charm.
The capital is subdivided into 8 Khans; Khan Dang Kor, Khan Meanchey, Khan Russey Keo, Khan 7 Makara, Khan Doun Penh, khan Toul Kork, Khan Chamkarmorn & Khan Sen Sok.
Area : 357 km2
Population : 1,325,681(2008)
Population Density : 4,571/km2

Tourist Attractions

Royal Palace & Silver Pagoda

Royal Palace, Phnom PenhFirstly the Royal Palace was erected in the reign of King Onhea Yat (1434), and secondly it was erected in the reign King Norodom (1866). The Royal Palace was formerly called "Preah Barom Reach Veang Chatomuk Mongkul" that meant it was conveniently located at the confluence of four rivers. Nowadays it is only called "Preah Barom Reach Veang".

The Royal Palace is a royal residence now where his majesty, the king of Cambodia, and the royal families live. In a common word, it is like a small town of royal dynasties.

National Museum

national museum phnom  penh by JP SwizzleNational Museum Designed by the French George Groslier and “Ecole des Arts Cambodgients” it was built in 1917 in the reign of King Sisowath in traditional Khmer style. The National Museum houses the world’s important collection of ancient Khmer archeological, religious, and artistic from the 4th to the 13th centuries. There are over 5000 pieces are on display including Angkorian era statues, lingas and other artifacts.

Wat Phnom

Wat Phnom by Debarka BanikWat Phnom is located on a hill 27 meters high in the center of Phnom Penh. The legend of founding Wat Phnom has it that in 1372 Lady Penh (Yeay Penh) fished a floating koki tree out of the river. Inside the tree were four Buddha statues. She built a hill (Phnom) and a small temple (Wat) which is now known as “Wat Phnom”. The current temple was last rebuilt in 1926 and the large stupa contains the remains of King Ponhea Yat who moved the capital from Angkor to Phnom Penh in 1422.

Toul Sleng Genocidal Museum (S 21)

Toul Sleng PrisonThis was a high school prior to the Khmer Rouge regime (1975-79). The museum of Genocidal Crimes it was used by the Khmer Rouge as a detention and torture center in the late 1970 which chronicle the years under the rule of the Khmer Rouge. The building now serves as a museum, a memorial and a testament to the madness of the Khmer Rouge regime. Much has been left in the state it was in when the Khmer Rouge abandoned it in 7th January 1979. The prison kept extensive records, leaving thousands of photos of their victims, many of which are on display. Paintings of torture at the prison by Vann Nath, a survivor of Toul Sleng, are also exhibited.

Cheung Ek Killing Fields

Cheung Ek Genocide MemoriaThe notorious Killing fields of Cheung Ek is located 15km of Phom Penh. In this place more than 17,000 civilians were killed and buried in mass graves; many of them transported here after detention and torture in Toul Sleng prison.
The memorial at Cheung Ek just outside Phnom Penh was an orchard and a Chinese cemetery prior to 1975. Cheung Ek is now a group of mass graves, killing areas and a memorial stupa containing thousands of skulls and long bones.

Central Market (Phsar Thmei)

Phsar Tmei - Phnom PenhThe unique, art décor building is a Phnom Penh landmark. Prior to 1935 the area was a swamp/lake that received the runoff during the rainy season. Central market is one of the largest and business markets in Phnom Penh which is a big yellow dome. Built in 1937 by French architects many interesting products are available. Central market in Phnom Penh is a good place to purchase everything from fish and vegetable to second-hand clothes, silk scarves, silverware, gems, antiques and other commodities.

Independent Monument

Independence Monument - Phnom PenhThe independence Monument (Vimean Ekareach) was inaugurated on 9th November 1962 to celebrate Cambodia’s independence from French rule (1863-1952). It was designed by the renowned Cambodian architect, Vann Monyvann.

The Independence Monument is today used to commemorate the souls of combatants and heroes who laid down their lives for freedom of country. It is the site of colorful celebrations and services on holidays such as Independence Day and Constitution Day.

Ounalom Monastery

Ounalom Pagoda, Phnom PenhBuilt in 1443 to enshrine a sacred hair of the Buddha, and located north of the National Museum of Arts, this temple is considered the seat of Cambodian Buddhism. When the Khmer Rouge evacuated Phnom Penh in 1975, they vandalized the building and murdered the Abbot along with many of the 500 monks who lived there.
Located on the riverfront which is reputedly the oldest Buddhist foundation in the city, probably predating the abandonment of the capital at Angkor in the 15th century. The founding date is variously cited as 1422 and 1443.

National Olympic Stadium

A front view of the main gatesConstruction on the National Sports Complex started in 1963 and was completed in 1964. Designer Vann Molyvann made use of massive earthworks to create the stadium, digging up 500,000 cubic meters of earth to shape the grounds.

The stadium might have been built to host the 1963 Southeast Asian Peninsular Games, but the games were cancelled due to political problems in Cambodia. There was also the short-lived GANEFO games, and they were held in Phnom Penh, Cambodia in November 25th~December 6th, 1966 and were named

'First Asian GANEFO'. The stadium did play host to appearances by visiting dignitaries and state occasions, and was the home of Cambodia's national athletics teams.

The stadium played a small part in the 1966 FIFA World Cup. Unexpectedly, North Korea faced Australia in a qualifier. Because North Korea lacked dipomatic relations with most countries, finding a suitable venue for the match proved difficult, until Head of State Norodom Sihanouk, an ally of Kim Il-sung, said the matches could be held in Phnom Penh. The matches attracted 40,000 fans, with Sihounouk decreeing half would cheer for Australia, while the other half cheered the Koreans. The matches were held on 21 November 1965 and on 24 November 1965 with North Korea winning both (6–1 and 3–1). Because South Korea and all African teams had withdrawn in protests against FIFA, North Korea were thus directly qualified to the final tournament, where they reached the quarter-final.

Among the facilities are Olympic-size pools for swimming and diving and an indoor volley-ball court with a capacity of up to 8,000, now known as the Olympic Stadium Indoor Arena.

During the Khmer Rouge era, the stadium was used as the site of executions by the Khmer Rouge of officials in the administration of Lon Nol.

Phnom Penh - Japan Cambodia Friendship bridge across the Mekong River by nadinesanChrouy Changvar Bridge

Known as the Cambodia-Japan Friendship Bridge, it was first constructed in 1966. It was twice mined and destroyed by the Khmer Rouge forces in 1975. It was repaired in 1993 by Japanese funding.

Koh Dach (Silk Island)

Koh Deach weaving villageFor those with an interest in Cambodia silks and silk weaving should go to visit a rural weaving village on Koh Dach. The weaving village is a typical rural Cambodian stilted village, dedicated almost entirely to silk weaving-people operating hand looms under most of the houses, others dying and spinning silk on spinning wheels made of bicycle parts. The boat may stop at Mekong Island (Koh Okhna Tey) and some other weaving houses along the way.

River Boat Cruising

Phnom Penh River Cruise Short river cruises and sunset cruises along the Phnom Penh riverfront are offered an interesting view of the city and watching the daily life of the people living on and around the river. A cruise typically take about 1-2 hours and run up the Tonle Sap river along the central riverfront area providing a picturesque view of the Royal Palace, National Museum, parks and Phnom Penh skyline, and then across the Tonle Sap and up to the Mekong river to view floating fishing villages.

Golf Course

Phnom Penh, Cambodia's laid back capital, has 2 full scale 18-hole golf courses on its western outskirts.

Cambodia Golf & Country ClubCambodia Golf and Country Club: is located 35km west of Phnom Penh, Cambodia’s charming capital city, and was the second 18 hole golf course to open in the country in 1996. The 7,000+ yard course is in a pleasant rural setting surrounded by palm trees, native fruit trees, evergreen plants and beautiful flowers, with a sprinkling of rocks. With a backdrop of distant mountains it is a delightful location. The course is relatively challenging with a large number of bunkers to keep you alert.

Royal Cambodia Golf ClubRoyal Cambodia Golf Club: lies 10km west of Phnom Penh, Cambodia’s charming capital city and was the first 18 hole golf club to open in the country. The 7,075 yard course is set in an attractive environment sitting amongst rice paddies and coconut palms. The course is rather flat yet it still provides a challenge with numerous sand and water hazards, including a large lake near the third hole! Being the closet course to Phnom Penh it is popular with local dignitaries, and it is said it is the Prime Minister’s preferred course - perhaps due to the fact he got a hole-in-one here in 2004!

Airport

Phnom Penh International AirportPhnom Penh International Airport is the second-largest and second-busiest airport in Cambodia. It is located 7 km (4.3 miles) west of central Phnom Penh. Taxis, pick-ups and minibuses leave Phnom Penh for destinations all over the country, but are fast losing ground to cheaper and more comfortable buses. Phnom Penh also has a rail service.

Penh is one of the very few Asian cities with virtually no traffic jams. The modern layout of Phnom Penh is a French creation. Colonial landmarks can be seen all over the capital, including the National Museum and the beautiful art-deco Central Market.

We wish all of you a pleasant stay in Phnom Penh

Kompong Chhnang Province

Kampong Chhnang Province

General information
The province is subdivided into 8 districts; Boribor, Chul Kiri, Kampong Chnang, Kampong Laeng, Kampong Tralach, Rolear Pha Ear, Samaki Meanchey & Teuk Phos.

- Area : 5,521sq km
- Population : 471,616 (2008)
- Density : 85.4/km2
The centrally situated Kampong Chnang (Clay Pot Port) province is an easygoing river town saturated with colonial architecture and harbor zone with floating villages. Surrounded by picturesque Cambodian country side and only 91km from Phnom Penh on the national road #5, Kampong Chnang is a commonly overlooked tourist destination. The area is famed for its skilled potters, some of whom are itinerant and can be seen hawking their wares from an ox-cart throughout Cambodia. Due to its location next to the Tonle Sap Lake Kampong Chhnang’s population is predominantly in fishery and rice plantation involved. Especially the provincial capital Kampong Chhnang, which is an easygoing river port town that is worth a visit, focuses on fishery and therefore features a big fishery port.

Tourist Attraction
Kampong Preah Temple (8km from Town)
Located at Wat kampong Preah, Chhnuk Tru Commune, Boribor District in eight-Kilometer distance.

Phnom Krang Romeas (2km from Town)
Phnom Krang Romeas is the natural resort having big trees with cool Shadow and fresh air.

Phnom Neang Kang Rey (14km from Town)
It is Nature Wildlife Preserves, located in Trabek Village, Trangil Commune.

Phnom Robath (12km from Town)
It is the cultural and natural resort locating at An Dong Chrey village, An Dong Snay commune, Ro Lear Pha Ear.

Phnom San Touch (3km from Town)
It is the natural resort locating at San Touch village, Sre Thmey Commune, Ro Lear Pha Ear District.

Por Reay Temple (18km from town).

We wish all of you a pleasant holiday in Kampong Chhnang!

Kompong Cham Province

Kampong Cham Province


General information
The province is subdivided into 16 districts; Batheay, Chamkar Leu, Cheung Prey, Dambae, Kampong Cham, Kamgpong Siem, Kang Meas, Koh Sotin, Krouch Chhmar, Memot, Ou Reang Ov, Ponhea Kraek, Prey Chhor, Srey Santhor, Steung Trang & Tbuong Kmoum.

- Area : 9,799sq km
- Population : 1, 680,694 (2008)
- Density : 164.2/km2
Kampong Cham is located on National Road #7 and it is 124 kilometres by road from the capital Phnom Penh using National road #6 &7. Kampong Cham is a province in the east of Cambodia. The Mekong River bisects the province. Its

Capital is Kampong Cham city. Kampong Cham is Cambodia's most populous province.

Tourist Attraction

Is the historical site located at 2 Kilometer distance from the Kampong Cham provincial town along the National road #7. The temple can be accessible by all types of vehicles. In the temple site is divided into:
Tonle Om Size 400 Meters x 500 Meters located at the East of the temple in approximate 300-metres distance from the temple.

First Long Building
Norkor Chey Temple (2km from Town)

Size 421 Metres x 371 Metres made of late rite stone of 2.9-meter height and 2.4-metre length. Now, most part of this long building has broken. In the area of the first long building included:
Six Lions: Located at the entrance of the second long building; the entrance has two-metre width.
Eight dragons: Located behind the six lions.
Two devils: Stand at both sides of the entrance.

Second Long Building Included
Two statues of Te Cho Dam Din
Two devils each have 1.6-metre height.
Two ponds each has size 20 Metre x 20 Metre; the two ponds are not dried during the dry season.

Third Long Building
Is thicker than the first and the second and has accesses from the four directions. In the third long building, at the front entrance, there is an eight-hand statue of Preah Norey and at the left-hand side, there is a four-hand statue of Preah Norey

Fourth Long Building
Made of late rite stone; it is separate and different from the first, second and third because it has accesses from the 12 directions. If we enter into the middle of the temple, we notice a high mid-peak made of sandstone with Buddhist statue facing to the four directions of East, West, North and South.

Nor Kor Chey temple has wide location; it is not smaller than other temples in Cambodia. The temple is the main gathering place for the people in Kampong Cham province, and other provinces and municipalities. The temple was building in 11th century.

Phnom Bros Phnom Srey (7km from Town)

The pagoda of Phnom Pros has official name called “What Sovan Kiri Rotanak Phnom Pros”; in 1000 Meters to the North, there is another mountain, which has pointed peak called “Phnom Srey”. North of the Phnom Srey, there are ranks of mountains such as mountains of Dang Rek, Ba Ley and Chhuk. The mountain of Pros has dull peak and has approximate 30-metre height. It can be reached by road until the top. At the top, there are a high-five peak temple adapted the model of Banteay Srey temple and two

pagodas closed to each other: one is the old pagodas having two peaks built in Sang Kum Reas Niyum time and the other one is being built. Under the temple, there is a big statue with 15-metre height built by the first dead of pagoda, named Keo So. At the mountain base, there are Kot for monks staying.

In addition, at the top of Pros Mountain we can view the beautiful scene of Kampong Cham province. From 1975-1979, the mountain of Pros was a big detention place for torturing Cambodian people in Kampong Cham province. The mountain of Srey has pointed peak and can be climbed up by 308 Stair steps. At the top, there is a ruined temple, with a few nuns and no monks who stay to maintain and collect contribution to rebuild the temple. In this resort, there are many local people who go there during the Khmer traditional festivals such as Khmer New Year and Pchum Ben.

Phnom Hann Chey (25km from Town)

Hann Chey Mountain has official name “Chey Kiri Mountain” located at the East of Kampong Cham province, at the northern part of Mekong River. This resort located at Hann Chey village, Hann Chey commune, Kampong Siem District in the distance of 20 kilometres by water and 25 kilometres by land. The mountain can be climbed up by 295 beautiful stair steps, and has pagoda and the temple of Kuk made of ancient solid bricks each has seven-square meter size.

Teuk Cha falls (41km from Town)
Next to the temple, there is a canal existing since the ancient time. The canal has water all year round, either dry or raining seasons; water which is clear and non-stopped flowing which leads to attracting tourists to enjoy it happily. On either side of the clear-water canal, there are plants and trees growing; but now these plants and trees have been cut off to make a big plain where the waste water spreads out at the rock temple.

In order to take advantage from the canal, a dam has been constructed to provide water to big rice fields in Prey Chhor District, Kampong Cham Province and in Ba Ray District, Kampong Thom province. Because the area is the cool place with great quantity of water and cool shadow from the trees that are growing around the ancient temple, these can sometime attract tourists to visit and enjoy during their holiday leading to be well known. Nowadays, the ancient pond, which we described as the achievement of Dr. Chung Kheal is the waste-water pond located in front of the dam that has been just constructed recently. The canal has water flowing from above and has source at the North in Kampong Cham province; the water flows from the North to the East, when touching a side of the temple, it flows down into a big slit. From the ancient time, the slit has been full of water; but there are small currents of water shared from the slit, then flow into rice fields of the surrounding villages such as Kroch village in Srey Chhor District as well. Because the canal is old, the Ministry of Agriculture has organized a dam for stocking water in order to accelerate the water flow of the canal to thousand Hectares of rice fields in districts of Prey Chhor and Ba Ray. The canal of Teuk Chha has corner where they can enjoy swimming; if someone like swimming in the shallow water, he/she can swim in the old canal, north of the dam because the bottom of the old canal has four-meter or five-meter width. The clear water, we can see its bottom with flock of small fish swimming in reverse direction to the water flow. If some one likes swimming in deep water, he can swim in waste water, south of the dam. Around the Slit of the canal bank, there is a high tree which provides shelter to tourists and birds. The water surface of Teuk Chha has approximated 3-square kilometer size filled by nearly 10 sources at the Northeast Mountain and plateau called “Kbal Teuk”. The tank of stocked water has approximately more than two-meter depth and pours to three accesses: two accesses via the dam can be closed and opened, and another one is the 10-meter Slit, North of the dam. The first dam is opened every day; the water flows down sounding as water fall; this can attract tourists to enjoy swimming. The second dam is opened during the festival days sometime; the water flow is not strong.

We wish all of you a pleasant holiday in Kampong Cham!

Sunday, November 8, 2009

SihanoukVill Province












Sihanoukville has a more than ample supply of accommodations, including a 5-star resort complex on Sokha Beach, several mid-range places downtown and at the beaches, a few 'upscale' three-star hotels, and dozens of budget
guesthouses, especially on Weather Station Hill (Victory Hill). Considering the moderate number of visitors to Sihanoukville, the town offers a surprising number and variety of restaurants and bars. Fresh seafood, especially crab, prawns and ocean fish, has always been one of the town's biggest draws, but there is also a wide variety of places offering foreign cuisines - Australian, French, Indian, German, Sri Lankan, British, Italian, pizza places and even a couple of western-style bakeries. And these days Sihanoukville offers a pretty good night life as well with a wide variety of bars staying open well into the wee hours, especially on Weather Station Hill, in the downtown area, and the beach bars on Ochheuteal, ‘Serendipity’ and Victory Beaches.

Sihanoukville's white sand beaches and warm Gulf of Thailand waters combine with a laid back, beachy atmosphere to provide a great little tropical getaway. Sihanoukville is a place to unwind by the beach, enjoy the fresh from-the-ocean seafood, take in a snorkeling or island trip or some scuba diving... generally slow-down, lay back and chill-out.

Sihanoukville has a different look and feel than most Cambodian towns. Constructed as a port city in the late 1950s, the town is much newer, more urban and cosmopolitan than most Cambodian provincial cities. Nowadays, Sihanoukville is as much a beach town as it is a port town, catering to beach-going weekenders from Phnom Penh as well as a steadily increasing number of foreign visitors. Still, the pace of life in Sihanoukville is very relaxed. Cows occasionally wander the main road, outside town foreign faces draw smiles and curious stares, and most of the beaches offer only beach umbrellas, thatched roofed eateries, and a growing number of restaurants, bungalows and hotels.

Sihanoukville has a more than ample supply of accommodations, including a 5-star resort complex on Sokha Beach, several mid-range places downtown and at the beaches, a few 'upscale' three-star hotels, and dozens of budget guesthouses, especially on Weather Station Hill (Victory Hill). Considering the moderate number of visitors to Sihanoukville, the town offers a surprising number and variety of restaurants and bars. Fresh seafood, especially crab, prawns and ocean fish, has always been one of the town's biggest draws, but there is also a wide variety of places offering foreign cuisines - Australian, French, Indian, German, Sri Lankan, British, Italian, pizza places and even a couple of western-style bakeries. And these days Sihanoukville offers a pretty good night life as well with a wide variety of bars staying open well into the wee hours, especially on Weather Station Hill, in the downtown area, and the beach bars on Ochheuteal, ‘Serendipity’ and Victory Beaches.
Now that most of the major roads are in good condition, regularly scheduled air-con buses crisscross southern Cambodia, making travel easy from Phnom Penh and connecting Sihanoukville with the other coastal cities of Koh Kong, Kampot, Kep, each offering its own unique character. And with the recent opening of the Prek Chak crossing with Vietnam and the completion of the final bridges on the road to Koh Kong earlier this year, the coastal traveler's trail from the Koh Kong crossing with Thailand, though the beach towns of Cambodia and on to southern Vietnam and Phu Quoc Island, is now open.

Seaside

Seaside. Beach. Ocean. Island.

You'll hear these words many times on your trip to SihanoukVille. All the resorts have their own beaches. Some of the beaches are very rocky, some are deserted, some are filled with beach stands, tourists and locals on weekends and holidays.

The resorts have private beaches for their guests. These are maintained by the resorts and are very quiet and clean.

Monks on the beach.

Outside of the resorts, you can find the following beaches. These are all mostly 5 minutes from downtown:

Otres
Otres is located at the far end of Ocheteaul. This beach is about 15 minutes outside of downtown, and you can walk here from Ocheteaul Beach in 15 minutes. This is the only beach without electricity, and is very peaceful. There are several grass beach shacks here. Sparsely filled with pine trees, and no other signs of civilization, this is one of the quietest beaches. You can also rent canoes, kayaks, and sailboats here.

Sokha Beach

Ocheteaul
Ocheteaul is the main tourist beach in town. Filled with beach stands, and just across the street from a plethora of hotels.

Sokha Beach

Serendipity
Serendipity is at the near end of Ocheteaul. This is the most Western public beach in town. A handful of bungalows on the beach and hillside, with plenty of dining options.

Sokha Beach

Hawaii
Hawaii Beach is isolated from the other beaches. Filled with pine trees, this is a popular starting point for boat trips to Snake Island, just offshore.

Sokha Swimming Pool

Victory
Victory Beach is a popular destination for residents of Victory Hill. There is a pier here for boat trips, a Russian plane on the beach doubling as disco, and some quiet beach stands near the seafood restaurants and casino. Also has yacht and power boat rentals.

Shade tree on the beach

Independence
Independence Hotel maintains part of Independence Beach for their guests. Part of the beach is on a rocky hillside with beautiful views, part is white sandy beach.


Ream
Ream beach is about 40 minutes out of town in Ream National Park. Not the best beach for swimming, but popular for the seafood stands on the shore, park tours, and island tours.

Sokha
Sokha Beach is a well maintained and very quiet beach reserved for the guests of Sokha Resort

Kampong Thom Province












Kampong Pos Thom’ was the original name of the present call ‘Kampong Thom’. Because originally long time ago, at the dock of Sen river next to a big natural lake, there was a big cave with a pair of big snakes inside. The people living around this area usually saw these big snakes every Buddhist Holiday. Time after that, the snakes disappeared, and the people of that area called Kampong Pos Thom.
Then, only short words ‘Kampong Thom’. During the French colony in Cambodia, the French ruled and divided Cambodian territory into provinces, and named them according the spoken words of the people called ‘Kampong Thom Province’ until now.
Kampong Thom is a province located at the central point of the Kingdom of Cambodia. The province has a total land area of 15,061km2 divided into 8 districts, 81 communes and 737 Villages. The total population is 576,805 people (110,334 families, women approximate 51%). The province has road network which links from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap on National Road 6, and separates to Preah Vihea province National Road 64 in a distance of 126 km.
Kampong Thom is also a province-rich in tourism potentials to attract national and international tourists such as the exotic lakes, rivers, forests, mountain and more than 200 ancient temples.

History of Sambor Prei Kuk:
The ancient city where monuments of Sambo Prei Kuk are found today was identified as ISANAPURA, the capital of Chenla in 7th century. Chenla was a former vassal of the Funan kingdom that was one of the first state in Southeast Asia, but it gradually gained its power and eventually King Citrasena Mahendravarman of Funan in the early 7th century.

Main archaeological features in these groups of monuments are said to have been founded by king ISANAVARMAN I, the son of king Citrasena. Many decorative details in Khmer architecture and sculpture are classified as Sambor style: the name was derived from these monuments dated in the first half of the 7th century. Henceforth this kingdom was the leading state and comprised the whole of Cambodia proper. Furthermore, several successions of kings’ reign might have maintained these monuments as their capital city. The century following the death of JAYAVARMAN I who is the last known king of this kingdom in the second half of the 7th century is a dark period in the history of Chenla.

According to a Chinese accounts, in the 8th century, the country of Chenla was divided into land and water Chenlas. The obscurity prevails and this monument might be neglected thereafter. The history.
However, is traced again with the accession of JAYAVARMAN II, who founded a new polity that is now referred as Angkor in the beginning of 9th century. Decorative details of Prasat Tao (Central Group) are similar to the style of the remains belong to the period of the king JAYAVARMAN II, Particularly, characteristic lion statues resembles the statues found in Phnom Penh. From these reasons this architectural complex is said to be constructed in this period.
From above historical perspective, this group of monuments is extremely significant not only for Cambodia but also for the entire area of Southeast Asia, for they are the only remaining sound architectural constructions that exemplify the architecture and sculpture of the early period in sizable quantity.

Sambor Prei Kuk Group:
Sambor Prei Kuk cluttering sanctuaries were located in Sambor Village, Kampong Cheuteal Commune, Prasat Sambor District, Kampong Thom Province. King Mahendravarman had reigned form 607 to 616, was a son of a king Sambor Prei Kuk style characterized the real khmer telent. After right received influence and developed her own arts sufficient to the modern development. Arts and civilization of Angkor was the great achievement in Southeast Asia. The well-known city was called Isanapura is presently located at Sambor Prei Kuk, Kampong Thom Province. Sambor Prei Kuk is 25km north of Provincial Town of Kampong Thom. By observation, there are 52 small and big sanctuaries are in fairly good condition, the other 52 sanctuaries were fallen down and buried into the ground, and then became small hills. The sanctuaries were built of brick and limestone with the decoration of bas-relief on the scenery walls. The foundation of sanctuary was made of laterite, false door, diamond column and the sculptures were made of sandstone.

Prasat Sambor Group (Northern Sanctuaries):
Northern sanctuary group comprised 11 sanctuaries separated from each other with the one at the middle, and had two-wall rampart. The sanctuaries were built of brick and limestone and carve in the beautifully real khmer style. These achievements certified the real khmer talent, after received the influence from India. Khmer had prepared her country and developed arts by herself. The every great development was in Angkor civilization period. The sanctuary was built on a rectangular hill (24m 21m or 25,200 square meters or 2.52 hectares).

The sanctuary comprised 14 temples (only 8 remains), and were surrounded by two-wall rampart. These temples were constructed in various plans-square and octagonal shapes. The top of the temple was carved in lotus petals of sandstone, but some parts were cracked down and buried into the ground and the pile of bricks.

Lion Temple Group:
Lion temple group comprise 18 temples with two ramparts closed to the pond. The reasons why the people called Lion Temple because on the tops of all stairs from the four directions, there were sitting lions with forelegs standing up, hind-legs humbling down, its head rose up and its mouse opened to the sanctuary.
The rampart outside made of laterite, had 328-meter length, 310-meter width and 101,650-square-meter surface.
This rampart had Gopura in two-direction (East and West) entrances that are connected by the other laterite ramparts. In between rampart 2 and 1, at the Northeastern side near the rampart 1, there was a rectangular pond (42.10m x 34.20m). The bottom of the pond spread by laterite and surrounded by the stepped stairs. The small stairs of the Southern side are made of sandstone
Now the pond is empty during the dry season. When we enter from the Eastern Gopura on either side of the road, we see two sanctuary hills were built on high terrace with the tracks of the round column made of laterite lining up in 0.40m height.

Prasat Yeai Poeun Group:
Prasat Yeai Poeun Group comprised a total of 22 sanctuaries (5 have octagonal shapes) with two wall rampart, and was built of brick, masonry, laterite and sandstone in rectangular from in 7th century (600-635) during the reign of Isanavarman I to dedicated to Shiva. They were built on a hill with Gopura from the eastern and western entrances joining to an outside laterite rampart. The inner rampart reached by gateways from the four directions and joined to the brick rampart carved in various clustering figures.
Along the sanctuary contained the eastern and western Gopura joined to the laterite rampart (304m x 274m or 83,296 square-meter surface). Gopura contained framed door with diamond columns and a lintel built of sandstone. Eastern Gopura contained a buried large inscription (size: 2.41m x 0,9m x 0,15) inscribed with 17 lines of script. This inscription was brought to be kept in Kampong Thom Museum.

Kroul Romeas Group:
Behind Kroul Romeas Group, there were four more sanctuaries made of brick and built during the reign King Suryavarman 1(end of 11th century). These sanctuaries were built on a rectangular hill, and faced to the East. One of sanctuaries was not completely built yet, it was likely built in later period. The lintel was carved in the form of bow without the modal. At the southeastern side, there were two temples recognized as the original ancient khmer styles.

Phnom Santuk:
Since the ancient time to the present, Phnom Santuk Mountain has been called in many names as below:
- Phnom Thom (in history)
- Phnom Arth Santuk (In history)
- Phnom Chorm Chong Kiri
- Phnom Krop Tuk
- Phnom Preah Bat Chann Tuk

The ancient heritages on the top of the mountain:
- Many Buddha statues were carved from great mountain rock including three big Buddha statues reaching Nirvana, each has more than 10-meter length.
- Prasat Touch of pyramid shape, made of sandstone, has three stories and three-meter height, and is located next to the ancient wooden temple (presently, it is made of cement) with a rectangular pond (10m x 4m).
- Preah Bat Chann Tuk statue was carved on the stone shaped as food of a sacred human, and there are many other small sculptures.
By the stories, the construction and the statues were erected during the reign of Preah Ponhea Dharma Reacha (1474-1494) and have been maintained until now.
Phnom Santuk has changed names to Chorn Chong Kiri and Phnom Krop Tuk. Chan Dare or Chan Chare are called two pieces of stone by local people that join all together in marked symbol and made in small hole, the passenger arrived there, they always dropped cash coins (ancient coins) into this small hole. When cash coins was dropped in, it make soft weak voice like a voice of the birds sing or music with happiness. So they did that since ancient period.

Preah Bat Chan Tuk or Buddha statue:
- Was built by King Ang Chan I (16th century).
- King Baksei Chamkrong built a wooden temple on Phnom San Tuk at the same year.
- Sculptures carved on large ancient stone with many scenes of story.
- Buddha statue reaching Nirvanawas carved on larges-stone since 16th century.

Prey Pros:
Prey Pros is a natural and cultural site located at Prey Pros Village, Prey Preal Commune, Kampong Svay District in approximate 16-km distance northwest of Provincial Town of Kampong. The site cover an area of 2 million square meters and includes a river (4,000-meter length and 30-meter width) which is rich in Domrei fish. The site is a venue for foot races, bicycle races, and other games during national festivals. In addition, the provincial tourists’ office has organized other recreational activities such as boating, fishing and swimming, and has built resting cottage where food and drinks are sold. The view from Prey Pros is beautiful and enchanting, while the wind which blows across the river will cool and refresh the hot and tired tourists.

Prasat Kuh Nokor:
Prasat Kuh Nokor is located in Trodoc Poung Village, Pong Ror Commune, Baray District, Kampong Thom Province and is in the complex of Wat Kuh Nokor (Buddhist Pagoda). To reach there, passenger can take all kinds of vehicle on National Road 6, then turn west through the gate of Kuh Nokor pagoda in a distance of 2km. It is 79km from Provincial Town of Kampong Thom. These sanctuaries were built on the flat ground, on a square terrace made of laterite and sandstone facing to the East with the rampart surrounding. This rampart has a 35m-length (East to West) and a 25m-width (North to South). There is surrounding rampart of one meter height and 0.8 meter thick with two gateways: Eastern gateway is 9m height divided into 3 rooms, and western gateway is small and has square shape.

The structures of the buildings are mixed, made of laterite and the decoration of sandstone. East of the temple, there are 2 ponds-the small one has about one-meter depth,45-meter length and 20-meter width, and the big one has 160-meter length, 88-meter width and more than one-meter depth.





Prasat Kuh Nokor comprises:
- The throne is square shape, made of sandstone and decorated by lotus flowers and pointed-diamond style, and has square hole at the middle.
- A male standing statue remains from thigh to shoulder.
- A male standing statue remains from thigh to the navel.
- A male coiling statue is difficult to be identified as the statue broke the end of the arm and the sole of the foot (local people called the statue ‘Neak Ta Bark Kor’.
Prasat Kuh Nokor was built in 10th -11th century by the king Suryavarman I (1002-1050). But in the same year (1002), another document said there was a king named Preah Bat Jayviravarman who who was also on throne (1002-1010). The two kings claimed that they were on throne at the same year, this leading to war between king and king until 1006. Then the king Suryavarman I conquered Yasodharpura city, however the war still lasted for 04 years to end. In 1010, the king Suryavarman I gained success over the entire territory and had full power in the country.

Prasat Kok Rokar (Preah Theat):
Prasat Kok Rokar is located in Rokar Phum, Srayov Commune, Stung Sen District, Kampong Thom province in a 14-km distance from Provincial Town of Kampong Thom. The temple was built of sandstone and laterite in Khleng style at the end of 11th century during the reign of king Suryavarman I to dedicate to Siva.
This isolated sanctuary (dimension: 6m x 5m; 8m height) was built on the hill and faced to the east. The body of the central temple has conical form with porches opening to the east, and a door reached from the eastern entrance (three other doors were the false doors). The diamond column has octagonal forms, and the three lintels have various forms. Based on the study to the site, the sanctuary was formed in rectangular shape. The outside rampart has 25m x 25m size and Gopura from the four directions which jointed to the surrounding laterite rampart. Outside the rampart, there were likely moats surrounded as we saw some marks remain until now. In observation to the temple’s court, there were lintels and inscriptions available at the surrounding. The lintels has various style some in Sambor Prei Kuk, some in Prei Khmeng and some in Kulen style etc. This didn’t mean that the artists built the mixed styles. According to the elderly resident there said that during the French colony in Cambodia, these ancient objects were brought from other temples to gather here in preparing to break into small parts that would then be used to pave the roads, but they didn’t construct the roads yet due to the war happened in the Country that why these ancient objects remained there.

On the hill 1km from the temple, where they held midnight ceremony every full moon day with making virgin girls dancing around the fired place to pray for the rain. This ceremony could be participated by virgin girls only.

Prasat Phum Prasat:
Located in Prasat Village, Prasat Commune, Snatuk District, Kampong Thom Province. This temple located in a 27-km district from Provincial Town of Kampong Thom, and there is road from the southern direction of 500-meter length. This temple was built of brick, masonry and sandstone in 8th century (706) with Kampong Preah style to dedicate to Siva. It was a sanctuary built temple on the flat terrace without the false door and faced to the east. In the ancient period, the door were made by two wooden boards-one carved with sculptures of male divinities at another one carved with female divinities. The southern framed door was inscribed with five lines of inscription, and its back was mostly erode. The lintel was ornamented by the garlands; the diamond column we carved with carousing motifs; and the upper corner of the temple contained the segments of Linga and Yoni. Southeast of the temple, there were other two more temples (at present, they became the small hills). South of the large temple, were was a hill called Toul Samrong or Toul Nak Ta Samrong; and east of this hill, there was a Pou tree in which the local people call Toul Nak Ta Deum Pou (the hill of the body tree spirit). In ancient time, this place was the former royal palace where the royal valuable were kept. Then it was excavated and the valuables were taken away during the French colony. This sanctuary was in seriously ruined condition, in 1996 the brick of the southern and western towers dropped down due to the trees growing and the strong wind blowing on them. Besides, there was lack of conservation and protection leading to the serious damages caused by nature and aged existence at the sanctuary especially by the ignorant people.
Closed against the sanctuary, where the Buddhism monks constructed the new temple. This could caused the damages to the ancient sanctuary. Beside the Prasat Phum Prasat, there was an inscription buried into the ground which its upper part was inscribed with six lines of Sanskrit scripts. This inscription was found at six kilometers near the Police Post on National Road 6.

Prasat Andet Temple:
Prasat Andet is located northwest of Provincial Town of Kampong Thom, in Prasat Village, Sankor Commune, Kampong Svay District, Kampong Thom Province. The temple was built in second half of 7th century (627-707) during the reign of king Jayavarman I to dedicate to God Hirihara, in Kampong Preah style and made of brick with masonry, laterite and sandstone. Prasat Andet had isolated plan, built on a 5.30-meter height artificial hill, and was form in rectangular shape with 7.50-meter length, 5.50-meter width and 1-meter thick (interior to exterior). It was facing to the East. The lintel of Prasat Andet was carved in the garlands and carefully done in the traditional khmer style.
The coronet (2.22 lengths) was ornamented around by the rings decorated, and at between of the rings we decorated with garland and bulb flowers surrounded, which are joining each other by the end of the decorations. In original former time, this temple contained Harihara Statue standing on a decorative royal throne, and the statue was brought to be kept at Phnom Penh National Museum. The Harihara statue is a body side’s Siva and another body side’s Vinu. The framed door had 1 m width, 2m height and 0.20m thick. On the northern framed door, we saw the marks of a cloven hoof of tiger cat that used to go to the upper box of the door, which remained the marks until now.

Bird Sanctuary of Boeng Tonle Chmar:
Boeng Chmar contains fishing lot 5 and lot 6, and is 30km far from Stoung District town of Kampong Thom Province, there were villages of Nesat, Kamong Kdei, Svay Kor, Mo Doung, Kampong Bradom and Msa Trang Tboung in Peam Bang Commune. The people living in this area with floating houses that are moving up and down according to the water levels in the jungle and flooded forest. The bird sanctuary of Boeng Chmar covers a land area of 400 hectares having an interconnecting network of water channels along the bank of Boeng Kla Lake, rich in flooded forests. This area is connected by two big river tributaries (Stoung and Stung Chik Kreng) flowing down to Boeng Chmar. Beong Chmar is the sanctuary for many kinds of birds.

Stone Handicraft:
Located at Ka Kos Village, Ka Kos Commune, Santhuk District in 16-km distance from Provincial Town of Kampong Thom on National Road 6. The craftsmen take the rocks from the Santhuk mountain’s foot to make statues and various figures for house decoration. This stone handicraft is served for domestically and internationally target markets. Beside stone handicraft, Kampong Thom has other handicraft like Krama, Silk shirts, traditional khmer clothing and handbags.

Steung Treng Province















Stung Treng is a northern province of Cambodia. It was formerly called Xieng Teng and was once a part of the vast Khmer Empire, then the Lao kingdom of Lan Xang and later the Lao kingdom of Champassack. During the period of French Indochina it was again ceded to Cambodia.

The provincial capital is also named Stung Treng and is an important trade hub with a few hints of Lao influence scattered about, owing to the fact that the Lao border is about 50 km away. It’s a friendly, quiet country town situated on the confluence of the San River and the Mekong River. It actually sits on the banks of the San River, with the mighty Mekong coming into the picture on the northeastern outskirts of he town.
The river port area just in front of the small city park is fairly busy, handling trade between Cambodia and Laos. The ferry across the San River to where National Highway No 7 continues north to the Laos border is also at this pier. The fare is 300 riel per head. We went for a ride on this stretch (2,000 riel for taking a big bike on the ferry), but there is not much to see along the way besides light jungle and some remnants next to the road that was a target of carpet bombing during the Vietnam War years (the road was recently overhauled and is now one of the best in the country). The road works its way eastward so it does not afford views of the Mekong River as one would hope. The few residents we saw along the way were truly amazed to see the likes of us, who would want to be there.

Tourist sites:

Fresh Water Dolphin
Nowadays the dolphins live mainly in the rivers and waterways of Kratie and Stung Treng provinces. The number of these mammals is estimated to be between 40 and 60 and they are often seen travelling in small groups of 6 to 10 individuals. The females usually give birth to young once every two years most often during the months of June to August. The young dolphins are about 1m in length at birth and suckle milk. By adulthood the dolphins can attain a length of over 2.5m and weigh up to 180kg. Their diet consists mainly of small fish, shellfish and snails. The dolphins can swim at speeds up to 40km per hour and stay submerged for periods between five and ten minutes.

Hang Kho Ba Pagoda
Hang Kho Ba Pagoda is the cultural and historical site, located at Hang Kho Ba Village, Hang Kho Commune, Steung Treng District in Six-Kilometer distance from the provincial town by the road to the airport, then turning left across the river of Se Kong. The pagoda of Hang Kho Ba is over 300 years. The local people there speak Lao majorly.

Steung Treng province has been recognized in two special characteristics:
- The province riches in sweet tamarind fruit.
- The province riches in Pa Si Yi fish
- Pava fish.

Koh Ksach Resort
Koh Ksach Resort is located along the river of Se Kong in 5 kilometer distance from the provincial town. The site features a beautiful sandy beach, 2 kilometers long and one-half kilometer wide, where visitor can swim or relax. A natural site, it can be visited only during the dry season and especially popular during Khmer New Year.

San River
The San River goes by three names, depending on which of the locals you speak to. Some call it the Kong River because the San and Kong Rivers merge together about 10 km northeast of Stung Treng town, confusing people about which name the river should bear. Others call it the Sekong River, which is the combined name of these two rivers. Whatever name the fiver beside the town goes by, it’s another one of Cambodia’s beautiful picture-postcard river towns. It’s a nice place to kick back and chill out if you are on a circuit tour of the Northeast River Scene, from here to Laos.
The San River is fronted in Stung Treng by a nice stretch of paved road. It’s the centre of socializing (as in most Cambodian river towns) in the late afternoon and early evening hours as the locals ride up and down the stretch enjoying the view and each other.
Ou Pong Moan Resort
Ou Pong Moan Resort is the natural and man-made resort which locates at Pong Moan village, Ou Pong Moan Commune, Steung Treng District in nine-Kilomter distance from the provincial town. The resort locates at the turning point to the provinces of Ratanakiri, Kratie and Steugh treng. At Ou Pong Moan resort, tourists are usually interested in:
- Ou Pong Moan has water source from the ground. The water source locates at 80-kilometer distance from the recreational site and flows all seasons. The water is suitable for swimming.
- At the riverside, there are small Kho Chos for leisure and resting.
- 10 Kwh electricity dam which is favorable for tourist development activities.

Phnom Preah Theat
Phnom Preah Theat is located in Thmey Village and Commune, Stung Treng District, about 2 kilometes (5mn) from Provincial Town. It is a Nature Wildlife and Preserves.

Thala Barivat Resort
Thala Barivat Resort is located at Thala Barivat district in 4 kilometers distance from the provincial town. This area can be accessible by going across Se Kong river and Mekong river to the provincial road of Preah Vihear.
Thala Baricvat is the historical resort in which the Preah Ko timple built in 7-8 century, made of red bred during the feign of the king, Javvarman I. In front of the temple, there is a statue of Preah Ko ( sacred cow) available in Cambodia next to the Preah Ko statue, there is a space having 10-squar meter area for playing the game of Viey khil annually, before the Khmer New Year. The game played during four days and three nights. It starts in the afternoon at 2 O’clock and lasts for two hours. The game played during the festival of the ethnic minority of Kouy.
There are many small, ancient temples near the Thala Barivat, but most of them, such as Prambuon Lveng temple, Srei temple and Angkor Kmao temple have been heavily damaged over time.

Wat Phnom, Stung Treng
Wat Phnom, Stung Treng Borrowing the name of the famous land mark temple in Phnom Penh, this one isn’t high enough for a good view of the area, though you can see the mountains along the Lao border to the north. Anew wat is currently under construction on the site. River Scene, from Here to Laos The San River is fronted in Stung Treng by a nice stretch of paved road. It’s the center of socializing (as in most Cambodian river towns) in the late afternoon and early evening hours as the locals ride up and down the stretch enjoying the view and each other. Drink and dessert stands spring up earlier to serve the daily merrymaking crowd. It’s a nice spot for a walk or jog any time of the day as the river road turns into a pleasant rural road that leads to the airport 4 km north of town.
The river port area just in front of the small city park is fairly busy, handling trade between Cambodia and Laos. The ferry across the San River to where Highway 7 continues north to the Laos border is also at this pier. The fare is 300 riel per head. We went for a ride on this stretch (2,000 riel for taking a big bike on the ferry), but there is not much to see along the way besides jungle and the remnants of a road that was a target of carpet bombing during the Vietnam War years. The road works its way eastward so it does not afford views of the Mekong River as one would hope. The few residents we saw along the way were truly amazed to see the likes of us, would want to be there.

Wildlife
Cambodia is home to some of the most significant populations of mammalian wildlife in Asia. Endangered species such as leopards, tigers, bantams, gaur, barking deer and the near-extinct Kouprey – the Kingdom’s national animal and the world’s rarest large mammal – have been sighted off the beaten path. In addition, wild elephants still roam remote pristine forests and monkeys and snakes abound in mountainous areas. While the international market for endangered species poses a great threat to the preservation of the Kingdom’s wildlife, conservationists strive to research, document and preserve them.